2.07.2006

You should be very proud of me. I watched an entire football game yesterday. Well, at least 2/3 of it. Either way, quite a sacrifice.

Hmm, I didn't see most of the first part, where the gods of this age first make their entrance, but I did show up in time for the most of the first quarter, during which the Seahawks were still winning. I'm a Seattleite, so I guess they're my team. I honestly don't care. Call me clueless, but it runs in the family; in the middle of the first half my dad leans over and asks me, 'Wait, just what color are we?'

I guess the commercials were interesting. Ok, all but that hummer one—what morons conceived that idea?

I dutifully held on till the half time show. Like, Omigosh! Who invited the Rolling St0nes to play? I guess it's high time they finally get to play in a Superbowl, because it's pretty obvious that one of them will probably drop dead within the year. They should be resting on their laurels now, not out risking their lives.
After being forced to watch the Stones finish--my mom said it was an educational experience, but I only saw it as yet another reason to value my education, study hard and get a real job--I rather lost interest in the game.

Huge, overpaid, Neanderthals wearing shiny tights and launching themselves into each other; the California Raisins at halftime; the commercials worshipping massive cars; all pomp, circumstance and tears when it’s finally over—if this is Americana, I’m moving to Madagascar.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home